Bookings

Your child can join a class at any time — you don’t need to wait till a new term starts to sign up.

Book and pay before the first Monday of term, and get five free entries for your child to swim in the pool for the term.

If you are new to SwimWell, we'll help you set up an account. Phone 04 801 4403 or email swimwell@wcc.govt.nz 

If you are an existing customer, you can view the class your child is booked into and pay online through our Recreation Bookings site.

Find a class


Term dates

2017
Term 3 (10 weeks):
Monday 24 July–Sunday 1 October

Term 4 (9 weeks):
Monday 16 October–Friday 15 December

2018
Term 1 (11 weeks):
Monday 29 January–Sunday 15 April

Term 2 (10 weeks):
Monday 30 April–Sunday 8 July

There are no lessons on public holidays.

Rollover booking dates

Karori Pool

  • 8am Tuesday 12 September: Rollover payments open
  • 9pm Wednesday 20 September: Rollover payments close
  • 9am Saturday 23 September: General bookings open

Keith Spry Pool

  • 8am Thursday 7 September: Rollover payments open
  • 9pm Tuesday 19 September: Rollover payments close
  • 8am Friday 22 September: General bookings open

Tawa Pool

  • 8am Thursday 7 September: Rollover payments open
  • 9pm Tuesday 19 September: Rollover payments close
  • 8am Friday 22 September: General bookings open

Wellington Regional Aquatic Centre

  • 8am Tuesday 5 September: Rollover payments open
  • 6pm Sunday 17 September: Rollover payments close
  • 8am Wednesday 20 September: General bookings open

How rollover bookings work

You don't need to wait until the end of term to find out what class your child is in. We assess your child continuously — and when they are ready, we move them up. You get to decide the time and day that suits you best. 

This means when a new term starts your child is likely to already be in the right class for them, and we'll automatically save them a spot. 

Simply pay for the next term’s classes during the rollover period and your child will stay in the same class, on the same day, at the same time.

We'll let you know when the rollover booking period starts.

School holiday programme dates

October 2017
Week 1: Monday 2 October–Friday 6 October
Week 2: Monday 9 October–Friday 13 October

January 2018
Week 1: Monday 8 January–Friday 12 January
Week 2: Monday 15 January–Friday 19 January
Week 3: Tuesday 23 January–Friday 26 January

April 2018
Week 1: Monday 16 April–Friday 20 April
Week 2: Monday 23 April–Friday 27 April

There are no lessons on public holidays.

Bookings for next holiday  programme 

8am Monday 28 August: Bookings open for the October holiday programme.

How we deal with cancellations

If a class is cancelled for any reason, we'll contact you to let you know and you’ll receive a credit on your account.

If your child can’t attend a class due to illness, you will not be able to make up the class at another time.

If you need to withdraw your child from classes for a medical reason (such as a broken bone, grommets or your child is in hospital), or because you’re moving out of the area, you’ll receive a refund. If you withdraw your child from classes for another reason, we will refund you, minus a 20% withdrawal fee.

 
Pre-school child in the pool with her father.